INFRAM: Criteria for Healthcare Infrastructure Maturity

HIMSS Analytics

For over a decade, HIMSS Analytics has guided healthcare organizations around the globe in technology adoption and implementation through maturity models that create benchmarks and standards for healthcare information and technology.

The Infrastructure Adoption Model (INFRAM) is designed to assist healthcare organizations in assessing and advancing capabilities and technology implementations as related to the organization's infrastructure.

By utilizing INFRAM, healthcare provider organizations can help improve care delivery, reduce cyber and infrastructure risk, and create a pathway for infrastructure development tied to business and clinical outcomes.

Where does your organization stand in terms of infrastructure architecture? Do you have a clear path forward for improving your infrastructure that supports both the technology investments that have been made and the improvement of patient care? The INFRAM is your global model to improve patient safety, reduce operational costs and ensure better health for the population. ​


The INFRAM helps healthcare organizations and vendors assess their level of infrastructure maturity based on eight stages of criteria (Stages 0 through 7). The model evaluates the organizational capabilities within five different domains. The evaluation helps the organization plan and build a roadmap toward infrastructure maturity and advise on how to take evidence-based action in supporting their efforts to acquire, use, and efficiently maintain advanced technology. 

Technical capabilities are evaluated across five domains:

  1. Mobility
  2. Security
  3. Collaboration
  4. Transport
  5. Data Center

The INFRAM Score

The INFRAM survey and scoring offers common language to provide a clear understanding of your infrastructure maturity and provide a path toward improving healthcare organization infrastructure and evidence to support investment plans. The survey will be available publicly and will offer organizations a baseline score by which they can determine their next best steps toward Stage 7.

The INFRAM Criteria

The INFRAM is an eight stage model (0-7) with distinct criteria for every stage.​

Stage 7

  • Adaptive and flexible network control with software defined networking
  • Home-based tele-monitoring
  • Internet and TV on demand

Stage 6

  • Software defined network automated validation or experience
  • On-premise enterprise/hybrid cloud application and infrastructure automation

Stage 5

  • Video on mobile devices
  • Location-based messaging
  • Firewall with advanced malware protection
  • Real-time scanning of hyperlinks in email messages

Stage 4

  • Multi-party video capabilities
  • Wireless coverage throughout most premises
  • Active/active high availability
  • Remote access VPN

Stage 3

  • Advanced intrusion prevention system
  • Rack/tower/blade server-based compute architecture
  • End-to-end QoS
  • Defined public and private cloud strategy

Stage 2

  • Intrusion detection/ prevention
  • Informal security policy
  • Disparate systems centrally managed by multiple network management systems

Stage 1

  • Static network configurations
  • Fixed switch platform
  • Active/standby failover
  • LWAP-only single wireless controller
  • Ad-hoc local storage networking
  • No data center automation

Stage 0

  • No VPN, intrusion detection/prevention, security policy, data center or compute architecture

Getting Started

Interested in uncovering your organization's INFRAM score and moving toward Stage 7? The HIMSS Analytics INFRAM will be available soon and will provide you with a baseline score to show where your organization stands and where the gaps in your system exist. Be among the first to get your INFRAM score by signing up for an alert when the model is available!

INFRAM score